A DISTRICT ROOTED IN COMMUNITY
Royal Oak is a unique city with a rich history, and Royal Oak Schools is proud to be a significant part of it.
The first local schoolhouse, Parker, stood at 13 and Woodward and was established in 1824 (before Michigan even became a state). As Royal Oak Township evolved into a village and continued to grow throughout the 19th century, more schools were constructed. The original Royal Oak High School opened in 1913 at the intersection of Main and University, and in 1927, a new, relocated Royal Oak High School opened on Washington at Willis. When a second high school was opened in 1957, Clarence M. Kimball High School, the original Royal Oak High School, became George A. Dondero High School.
Throughout the years, the district has evolved in tandem with the community. 19 additional schools have opened and closed throughout the district since Royal Oak became an established city. The district comprises one high school (Royal Oak High School, formerly located at the former Kimball High School), one middle school (Royal Oak Middle School, formerly located at the former Dondero High School), six elementary schools, a community education center, and district administration offices. Additionally, in 2004, the original Royal Oak WPA murals were rediscovered in storage. Read about their history here.
For more information about our community's history, visit the Royal Oak Historical Society Museum in person or online.